Home /p.17

I’ve been adopted!

Logos of organisations involved with Adopt a Composer: Sound and Music, PRS for Music Foundation, Making Music and King Edward Musical Society.

I’m very excited to be able to announce that this year I will be taking part in the Adopt a Composer scheme, funded by the PRS for Music Foundation and run by Sound and Music, in association with Making Music. The scheme pairs up composers with amateur ensembles to collaborate on new music and I am delighted that I will be working with the orchestra of King Edward Musical Society in Macclesfield.

In the coming months I will be getting to know the orchestra and working with conductor Tony Houghton and my composition mentor for the project, David Horne. This collaborative process will result in a performance on Saturday 18 June 2011 at St Michael and All Angels Church, part of the Macclesfield Barnaby Festival and the celebration of the 750th anniversary of the town’s royal charter. It will be my first work for orchestra, an exciting learning process — quite possibly for the orchestra as much as for me — and I’m looking forward to it immensely.

Macclesfield Barnaby Festival

Gaza Cantos @ Hexham Abbey Festival

Hexham Abbey Festival of Music & Arts Logo

Fantastic violist Emma Richards will be performing my short piece Gaza Cantos at a lunchtime concert on Thursday 30 September as part of Hexham Abbey Festival of Music & Arts. The programme also includes Robert Schumann’s Märchenbilder, Johannes Brahms’s F minor Sonata and movements from a transcription of the first Bach cello suite.

Listings: Facebook / Venue

Hear: La leggerezza delle città

La leggerezza delle città, which was premièred two weeks ago at Encuentros Cuenca, is now available over on Bandcamp for streaming and download. Below is a photo from before the concert in Cuenca in the cloister of art gallery and ex-convent, the Fundación Antonio Pérez. The view was spectacular and as the sounds of the tape music seemed to creep in from the narrow streets and burst from the valley below the experience of the music was very vivid.

Fundación Antonio Pérez

Concert space at Encuentros Cuenca: the cloister of Fundación Antonio Pérez

Quiet Games & Improvisation

Poster for A Curious Night

I will be performing/appearing/being at A Curious Night at the Nip & Tipple in Whalley Range the evening of Monday 13th September. Put together by composer Nina Whiteman and performance artist Michael Mayhew, it will include an eclectic range of performances, happenings and a ‘curious vegetable competition’, spurred on by Nabokov’s suggestion that ‘curiosity is insubordination in its purest form’. My contributions will include an audience improvisation piece with electronic atmosphere, titled Quiet Games, and an improvised performance on the cello. Come along, it should be intriguing.

Listings: Facebook / MySpace / Venue

Encuentros Cuenca

Encuentros Cuenca poster on billboard in Cuenca.

I have arrived home from a wonderful trip to premiere my tape piece La leggerezza delle città at Encuentros Cuenca. The festival was fantastic, the dance in particular standing out, and the cloister of the Fundación Antonio Pérez with a view across the valley proved a beautiful setting for the concert of electroacoustic music, which also included music by Donal Sarsfield, Panos Amelides, Irma Catalina Álvarez and Ricardo Climent. Many thanks to all the Encuentros Cuenca team. It was great to meet them all!

I was snapped diffusing during the concert by the local newspaper, El Día:

El Día, Cuenca, 05.09.2010, p. 16

See an index of all posts